GPS Arrival and Departure Procedurs

Ryan Wingard

• Members
    • View Profile
« on: August 05, 2011, 04:05:38 AM »

I'm new to the large VATSIM community, and so far I love it!  However, there is one area I'm struggling with...

I typically fly GA aircraft, which usually come standard with the Garmin GPS 500.  I've been trying to figure out how to program the departure procedure into the GPS but cannot figure it out.  After some research, I think the answer is that entering a departure procedure into the stock GPS 500 is not possible.  I'd rather not constantly rely on radar vectors - I want to be able to fly departure procedures on my own.

What do I have to do for this to happen?  Are there GPS upgrades I can get, or does it require a payware aircraft?  Once I'm able to figure out how fly DPs and STARs by GPS, I think I'll feel much more comfortable in the VATSIM world.

I appreciate the help!
Thanks,
Ryan

Lucas Cressler

• Members
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 04:15:53 AM »
As far as i've figured out you can't load a departure procedure into the default GPS (i'm not sure if there are any addon in which you can). The way I usually do this when I fly something without an FMC is when you are making your flight plan in flight simulator you pull up the departure procedure you flying and you look at the way point. If you hit edit on the flight plan you can drag the line to where you want. You can drag the line to either the fix your flying to or you can drag it, it will make a waypoint then you can edit the waypoint's latitude and longitude to find the fix. you can do the same with STAR's.

I know that sounded pretty confusing if your still confused tell me what your confused on, or wait till someone else comes by with a better solution haha.
ZOB TA
[email protected]

"This ain't a job it ain't an occupation it's a calling"

Michael Corcoran

• Members
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 09:48:02 AM »
Ryan,