Members using VRC/vPilot private message to advertise...

Ian Fisher

• Members
    • View Profile
Members using VRC/vPilot private message to advertise...
« on: February 25, 2018, 03:32:26 PM »
Hey everyone,

Recently when I have been controlling and flying I have been receiving an influx of private messages advertising different VA's, groups or discords. The messages I have been receiving are similar to this:

"[21:23:26] [REDACTED]: Hey you should join our Discord server it's all about general aviation and flight simming(sic). I am a admin and my name on there is [REDACTED]. Here's the link if you want to join [REDACTED]"

Maybe I'm being a grumpy gill but is this a appropriate use for PM on the network? Is this actually breaking the rules? Am I the only one getting these messages? Just want to get some opinions.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2018, 03:43:45 PM by Ian Fisher »

Matthew Kosmoski

• Members
    • View Profile
Re: Members using VRC/vPilot private message to advertise...
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 03:48:33 PM »
I've also noticed the increase in PM spam.  They don't seem to understand why I ask them to stop spamming me with that crap.  The closest thing to a CoC violation seems to be the usual A1.

Robert Shearman Jr

• Members
    • View Profile
    • Slant Alpha Adventures
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2018, 05:08:08 PM »
Well, when you spend weeks painting liveries, setting up a website, creating hundreds of routes, hiring Hub Managers for your nine worldwide hubs, but have no actual pilots to fly in your new VA, how else are you supposed to recruit?

;-)  ;-)  ;-)

Elai Kindler

• Members
    • View Profile
    • Jacksonsville ARTCC
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2018, 06:37:09 PM »
I haven't received any of these messages, but I commonly see people putting stuff like that in their remarks.

Kyle Sanders

• Instructors
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2018, 07:07:07 PM »
how else are you supposed to recruit?

;-)  ;-)  ;-)