A Change of Things - From Your New ATM

Peter Shivery

• ZJX Staff
    • View Profile
A Change of Things - From Your New ATM
« on: July 27, 2018, 02:37:20 pm »
Dear Jacksonville Team,

To those I didn't meet in the Teamspeak yet, I wanted to introduce myself ahead of the public announcement.  My name is Petey Shivery and I have been selected as the new Air Traffic Manager of Jacksonville!  Prior to this role, my VATSIM career has taken me through various positions at both Anchorage and Honolulu, from Webmaster to Deputy Air Traffic Manager.  Outside of VATSIM, I work as an eCommerce professional for Newell Brands, a consumer-goods company.  I have a deep passion for leadership development, brand marketing, and data-driven growth which I hope to bring to Jacksonville.

It was empowering to listen to your concerns and I was welcomed by your energy.  Our ARTCC is filled with dedicated members and given the right environment, I know we can take this organization to new heights.

In the short-term, I wanted to make four changes which I believe will make an immediate impact on this organization and push us in the right direction:

• Effective July 26, 2018, Discord will be the ARTCC's official means of communication and Teamspeak will be discontinued. To join our Discord, you can use this link or use the invite code MDVSdZT in your Discord application. Discord has a mobile-friendly app, all of Teamspeak's capabilities, screen-sharing for training staff, and more robust chat features. Moreover, I see our Discord being a hub not only for ZJX controllers, but for the greater VATSIM community. Great ideas happen when you create a space for those ideas to be shared.