I'd like to observe

Alex Iadicicco

• Members
    • View Profile
I'd like to observe
« on: March 12, 2009, 09:53:51 PM »
Is there a way I can simply observe or listen to the atc/pilot communication? Do I have to pass the exam first?

I'm using ASRC, but I don't have the sector files for the area I'd like to get to know (Phoenix Sky Harbor, KPHX), and I don't know if they are necessary.

I'm new to the whole VATSIM, ATC thing. I'm going to need a lot of guidance for these first steps. Thanks in advance.

--alex

Harold Rutila

• Members
    • View Profile
I'd like to observe
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2009, 12:05:49 AM »
Hi Alex,

Well, firstly, welcome to VATSIM. I'm sure you'll have a good time.

You might want to consider using VRC for observing and initial training on VATSIM. ASRC is older software compared to VRC, and generally speaking, VRC is easier to use for first-time members. ASRC is still an excellent program, but you might want to hold off on it until you're experienced enough to use it proficiently (VRC is a point-and-click-based client, while ASRC is mostly memorized dot commands).

Anyway, yes, you can still observe without having to take any exams. To do this, you'll need to have the sector file for the area in which you'd like to observe loaded in your radar client (VRC or ASRC). These can be found at the websites of each facility. If you're looking for Phoenix Sky Harbor sector files, you can find them at the Albuquerque ARTCC website, http://www.zabartcc.org/ . A full list of VATUSA ARTCCs is available on the right hand panel of www.vatusa.net.