Returning after a LONG absence, bringing my "companion", anxiety...

Chad Harris

• Members
    • View Profile
I've been a member of VATSIM for a long, long time and have decided once more to try and take up the challenge of controlling. One of my problems has always been that I've always suffered from severe anxiety -- something that I was formally diagnosed with last year. As a result of the anxiety, I always struggled to stay with my training or to feel like I was in the right spot. I'd get frustrated with myself and just let my account go inactive, or I'd think I'd have better luck and focus in a different ARTCC.

Net result: I'm a decade-and-a-half veteran of VATSIM, and I'm still an S3. Not that there's anything wrong with that, of course...mainly I'm just frustrated with myself. On top of it all, I don't really remember the higher-level stuff I learned to get my S3, so I know I've got some catching up to do.

Anyway, that's all a long-winded way of asking if anyone might have some advice for me on how to best approach things now that I know what my struggle is and it's more manageable with medication -- though definitely still difficult sometimes.

I've been taking my time mulling over which ARTCC to approach, because I worry that my long absence will lead to some training headaches or feel like I'm taking up valuable training time from other folks, simply because I struggled to stay focused, calm, and engaged during my last attempts -- and failed miserably. :/ Still something I'm considering; I'm not in a hurry to pull the trigger yet, until I can really evaluate where my best fit is going to be.

I guess I'm just worried that I'll be seen as a "troublemaker" or "that guy who can't stick with it...ugh!", and I want to be an asset to an ARTCC, VATUSA, and VATSIM's users as a whole. I certainly don't want to frustrate fellow controllers -- or the pilots!

Any advice, folks?  ???

Thanks in advance for your insights or thoughts.  :D

Don Desfosse